Visitors since





www.afte.orgAFTE Business > Committees

Help with the siteClick here to return to the Home Page

AFTE Committees

 AFTE Committees and their members can be found below. 

 Click on the titles of the respective committees to view their duties and procedures.

Are you interested in participating in an AFTE Committee? 


If so, e-mail your contact information, as well as any specific interests and/or specialized skills to Brandon Giroux.


The Committee for the Advancement of the Science of Firearm & Toolmark Identification

John Murdock, Chair
Luke Haag
Jim Hamby
Pete Striupaitis
Andy Smith
Brandon Giroux

Advisory Committee

Ray Cooper, Chair
Dan Gunnell
John Finor
James Krylo
T.L. Price

Board of Admissions

Kathy Richert, Chair
Brandon Giroux, 2nd VP
Laura Fleming
Jill Dupre
Evan T. Garrison


Dan Alessio, Chair
Eugene Bishop
Travis Spinder
Peter Striupaitis
William F. Wheatley
Michael Ward


Eric Collins, Chair
Robert M. Thompson
Michael Neel
Don Mikko
Jodi Marsanopoli
Jason Flater


Jim Stephenson, Chair
Tommy Heflin
Ed Wallace

Editorial Committee

Cole Goater, Editor
Robert Caunt, Assistant Editor
Mike Haag, Assistant Editor
Bill Matty, Assistant Editor
Eric Collins, Assistant Editor

Russell McLain, Publication Sec. (printed)
Charles Clow, AFTE News Coordinator

Editorial Review Panel

Chris Gunsolley
Brenda Lawrence
Julie Red Leaf
Kim Stevens
Angel Moses
Chris Monturo
Jason Crafton
Dean Dahlstrom
Todd Weller
Ed Wallace

Historical Committee

Helen A. Lake, Chair
Gerard Petillo
Bill Wheatley

Investment Planning Committee (Treasurer's Sub-Committee)

Kurt Zielinski, Chair

Member of the Year (Walter J. Howe Award)

Julie Knapp, Chair
James Looney
Garry Lawrence
Kenton Wong


Diana Paul, Chair
Kim Haag
Jodi Marsanopoli

Referee Lab Selection

John Mancini, Chair
Jay Stuart
Cindee Lorenzo

Research & Development

Melissa Oberg, Chair
Rick Wyant
Eric Collins

Scholarship Committee

Erin Mulligan, Chair
Mike Giusto
Eugene Bishop
Ken Green
Torrey Johnson
Dave Santora
Michelle Hunsinger

Sickness & Distress/Family Assistance  

Jill Dupre
(Sickness and Distress)
James Carroll (Family Assistance)

Committee members:
Lance Martini
Helen Lake

Committee Forum

Standardization/Training Committee

William Demuth II, Chair

Glossary Sub-Committee

April Stowe, Chair
Valerie Bernardi
Bongi Bishop
Katherine Castillo
Ken Green
Stacey Hartman
Michelle Hunsinger
Daniel Jackson
Russell Karsten
Stephanie Luehr
Timothy McSpadden
Carlo Rosati
Stefanie Watkins
Amy Weber
Marc Weber Tobias
Jane Whitworth

Training Manual Sub-Committee

Ashely Northcutt, Chair
Jodi Marsanopoli
Jerry Petillo
Susan Allen
Don Dunbar
Carey Muhlhauser
Deion Christophe
Jennifer Floyd
Nicholas Mattia
Carolyn Martinez

AFTE Seminar DVD Sub-Committee

Lauren Claytor, Chair
Dana Bonar
Chris Monturo

Technical Procedure Sub-Committee

Erin Mulligan, Chair
Rafael Perez
Doug Lancon
Kim Haag
Angel Moses
Susan Lee
Robert Thompson
Steve Deady

Steve Molnar Award for Key Person of the Year

Sarah Yoshida, Chair
Justine Kreso
Carl Rone
Richard Amberger
Mike Appel

Technical Advisors

Paul Szabo, Chair (Winchester)
Ken Green (SAAMI)
Ron Borgio

Website Committee

Jay Stuart, Chair
Scott Doyle
Jill Errickson

Forum Moderators
Bob Shem, Global Moderator
Matthew Clements
Charles Clow
Dwight Deskins
Chris Monturo
Justine Kreso
Amy Weber
Jill Errickson

Ad Hoc Committees

Accreditation Committee (Expires 2014)

Tom Fadul, Chair
Gabe Hernandez
Kerri Heward
Erich Smith

Training Seminar Steering Committee (Expires 2015)

Adam Grooms, Chair
Jennifer Coombs
Justine Kreso
Jay Stuart
Rick Wyant
Kathy Geil

Other AFTE Positions

Legal Advisors

Lawden Yates, Primary

* Requests for modifications to the duties and procedures should be directed to the AFTE 1st Vice President.

blue line

HOME | The Association | Members Area | Membership Info 
AFTE Journal | Online Payments | Examiner Resources | Training Seminar 
Message Board | Job Postings | Forensic Links
| HELP  

Copyright � 2001 Association of Firearm and Tool Mark Examiners (AFTE).
All rights reserved.  Revised: November 12, 2013.